38-Year-Old Woman Marries Jesus Christ

consecrated-bride2

Jessica Hayes, 38-year-old from Fort Wayne, Indiana, a theology teacher at Bishop Dwenger High School, decided to marry the son of God in church ceremony last weekend after years of prayer and soul-searching.

“I think that in some sense, we’re all called to be married,” Hayes said. “It’s just a matter of discerning how. So, my marriage to Christ is as someone else’s marriage is to their spouse. My students asked if they should call me Mrs. Hayes when I come back to school next week, and no, I’m still Ms. But I am married to Jesus,”

The elaborate wedding service was conducted by Bishop Kevin C. at the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception, with hundreds of attendees  – mostly strangers to Hayes.

“I am so happy to have had so many witnesses (at the wedding) because there may be others that the Lord is calling in this way that have now heard of this life and can consider it in their prayer,” she said.

“Now that I’ve made a public commitment, that’s really an encouragement to me to live up to that because people know that this is who I am and my life needs to be lived in conformity with that,” Hayes added. “So it’s one more step in that direction that others expect this way of life from me and I need to live consistently in my words and actions that love for Jesus.”

Hayes is now part of an elite group of ‘consecrated virgins’ – women who lead chaste lives, but are not required to live in convents, obliged to work for the Catholic Church or marry again for the rest of their lives, oddity central gathered

Author: xhibitmagazine

Blogger / Web Designer living in Port Harcourt, Nigeria I loves Information Technology and Music. Ask me for more...

Leave a Reply

